Past Winners

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2016 awards presented at the IMEX Gala Dinner during IMEX in Frankfurt. High resolution versions of these images can be downloaded from our press images

For more past winners click here

  • Galadinner 50

    Academy Awards

    The IMEX Academy Awards are presented to individuals who have served the meetings and incentive travel industry exceptionally well.

  • Green Award Winners

    Green Awards

    The IMEX-GMIC Green Awards are jointly run with GMIC (Green Meeting Industry Council).

  • MPI Foundation Student Award

    Industry Awards

    IMEX supports several industry awards that are presented at the Gala Dinner during IMEX in Frankfurt.

Academy Awards

Africa and the Middle East winner, Amanda Kotze-Nhlapo

Amanda Kotze Nhlapo

Europe Academy Award winner, Erik Bakerman

Eric Bakerman

Asia Pacific winner, Geoff Donaghy

 Geoff Donaghy

The Americas Academy Award winner,  Elliott Ferguson

Elliot Ferguson


Academy Awards

View previous Academy Award winners, since 2003 below. 

2014 Winners

Edgar Hirt, Managing Director CCH of Congress Centre Hamburg and President of the International Association of Convention Centres (AIPC)

Fay Beauchine, former President of Business Loyalty at Aimia

Martin Winter, CEO of Gold Coast Tourism Corporation

Trevor McCartney, General Manager of Oman Convention & Exhibition Centre

2013 Winners

Pablo Sismanian, Inprotur, Argentina

Jane Vong Holmes, Gaining Edge

David Sands, Uwin Iwin, South Africa

Christian Mutschlechner, Vienna Convention Bureau

2012 Winners

Indra Sukirno, Jakarta Convention and Exhibition Bureau.

Gordana Plamenac, National Tourism Organisation Serbia.

Adel Zaki, Egypt Incentives and Events.

Jonathan Walker, Tucson Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Airy Garrigosa, Barcelona Convention Bureau.


2011 Winners

Samuel Koo, Seoul Convention Bureau

Rick Antonson, Tourism Vancouver

Trudi Wagner, Marriott Hotels

Rick Taylor, The Business Tourism Company

Jon Hutchison, Business Events Sydney

2010 Winners

Suprabha Moleeratanond, Thailand Convention & Exhibition Bureau

Nik Racic, Croatian Convention Bureau

Yussef Husseiny, Jordan Tourism Board

Greg Ortale, Greater Houston Convention & Visitors Bureau

2009 Winners

Liu Ping, China Star Professional Programs

Eduardo Chaillo, Mexico Tourism Board

Patrick Delaney, Ovation Global DMC

Joseph Sanna, Kenya Tourist Board

2008 Winners

Pieter A Van der Hoeven, PG International Consulting

Jane Schuldt, World Marketing Group

Barbra Albrecht, Switzerland Convention & Incentive Bureau

Angeline Lue, South African Tourism Convention Bureau

Walter Foletti, Expoforce AG

2007 Winners

Pierre Heumann, ANAe

Gillian Taylor, Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority

Ana Maria Viscalles, Puerto Rico Convention Bureau

Gary Grimmer, Gary Grimmer & Company

2006 Winners

Jean Christophe Espinosa, Director of Marketing and Promotion for Brunei Tourism

Gregory Kurdian, founder of Sunbound Bahamas

Alec Gilbert, CEO of Durban International Convention Centre (ICC)

Tatjana Radovic, Congress Manager of the Ljubljana Tourist Board of Slovenia

2005 Winners

Bill Fontgivell, Hotel Rey Juan Carlos I, Barcelona
Elhamy Elzayat, Emeco Travel, Cairo
Eduardo Sanovicz, Reed Travel Exhibitions Brazil
Alan Trotter, Conventions & Incentives, New Zealand
Maarten Vanneste, Abbit Meeting Support, Belgium

2004 Winners

Peggy Lau, Pacific World, Hong Kong
Jack Munro, Edinburgh and Lothians Tourist Board
Arnaldo Nardone, Radisson Montevideo
Sumaira Isaacs, MCI Dubai, UAE
Rob Spalding, Association Meetings International, UK

2003 Winners

Anthony Wong, Asian Overland Services
Anne Wallin Rodven, Oslo Convention Bureau
George Crossland, Africa Reps
Jim Germain, USA Hosts

Back To Top

Green Awards

Commitment to the Community Award winner, Bee Part of the Melipona Community, Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Green Meeting Award winner Greenbuild 2014 International Conference & Expo, U.S. Green Building Council and Informa Exhibitions US 

Green Supplier Award winner, Levi’s® Stadium

Green Award Winners

Back To Top

Industry Awards

MPI Foundation Student Scholarship Award

Karolina Widawska from the University of Silesia

MPI Foundation Student Award 

IAPCO Innovation Award

Yoshihito Takahashi, IT Director at Congress Corporation


JMIC’s Unity Award

Anita Pires, Partner at Pires & Associados Assessoria

 Unity Award

PCMA Global Meetings Executive of the Year Award

Janet Tan-Collis, Chief Executive at East West Planners Pte Ltd

Janet Tan Collins

The IAEE International Organiser Award

Edward J. Krause, President & CEO, E.J. Krause & Associates, Inc

 IAEE Award 1

SITE Master Motivator Award

Carolyn Dow, Managing Director of The Dow Consultancy

SITE Award Jpg

The DMAI Destination Marketing Humanitarian Award

Elliott Ferguson, President & CEO of Destination DC

 Humanitarian Award

Back To Top